The Open Secret: Exploring Vajrayana Themes and How They Intersect with This Moment in History (Live Online)

About This Event

We often hear that Shambhala teachings are inseparable from the highest vajrayana buddhist teachings, but what does this really mean? Tibet's "secret" tradition of vajrayana Buddhism has now been translated into most languages of the western world, but its translation into our modern culture is still very much underway.

In a time when humanity is struggling with issues of fair use of power and ensuring that all beings are treated equally with respect, how can we understand the vajrayana teachings with their profound transmission of our true nature–and it’s use of devotion and the Guru principle–to be accessible and compatible with our modern values? How can understanding our nature benefit our polarized world?

This course will explore the themes discussed by Shastri Nick Kranz in his pending book The Open Secret. He will present this rich, complex subject in a way that is very accessible to all. Everyone is welcome to join the search for clarity!

Please join Nick for four live sessions on Mondays (beginning September 7) at 8pm Atlantic / 7pm Eastern / 6pm Central / 5pm Mountain / 4pm Pacific

What to Expect

There will be talks as well as time for discussion. Nick will lead simple and accessible meditations and contemplations that give us a sense of some of the themes in Vajrayana. Each session will be approximately 1.5 hours.

Between sessions, you may be assigned readings, and a (contact info blocked) group will be created to facilitate discussion among class participants.

Everyone is welcome to attend this online course; no previous experience is required! You can be part of the discussion that helps refine the completion of Nick Kranz's book... the publishing date for which is NOT an open secret.

Cost

Suggested: $108 CDN

(Approx. $80 US)

Payment is by credit card or e-transfer.

You can purchase a copy of the book directly from Nick's website when it is published later this year.

Generosity policy applies. If you are experiencing financial difficulties due to loss of income, please email (contact info blocked) and indicate what you are able to offer for the workshop. We understand, and would like everyone who is inspired to participate to be able to do so.

If you are able to offer more, your support will be much appreciated. Dorje Denma Ling and Nick are also experiencing the economic impact of this pandemic.

PLEASE NOTE: Sometimes emails sent from our registration software can end up in the spam folder, depending on the settings of your service provider. You should get an automatic confirmation when you register. If you don't, please check your spam folder and mark as "not spam."

Reviews     To review this event, visit the page for the venue or retreat leaders (above).

Similar Retreats You Might Like

Thank you!

We're glad you've joined our retreat community. See you around :)

Return to my event ×

Why Retreat?

We asked people why they go on retreat, here's what they said:

Mind training for post-retreat life! Renate
 

Retreat Guru's Vision

We believe human beings are innately wise, strong and kind. This wisdom, although not always experienced, is always present. Going on retreat is a beautiful way to reconnect to our basic sanity and health. Our aspiration at Retreat Guru is to inspire people to experience authentic retreats and reconnect with their innate wisdom, strength and kindness.